Five minute writing: GO!

This is a writing excercise for an online class I’m taking. The city I’m living in while I’m in school has a library that offers free online courses, so I’m taking advantage of this. I want to improve my writing. I learned something in today’s lesson that is definitely true: I can think creatively, or critically about my writing, but I should only think one way at a time. Creativity helps me generate ideas, and critical thinking helps me decide which ideas to use. If I use both at the same time, I’ll reject all ideas before they’re on paper, or screen as the case may be.

I don’t know what to write about now. I went for a walk earlier. Whenever I’m by myself I need to be doing something. I often listen to music and I’m trying to get back into the habit of reading inside of wasting time on my phone. Temple Run is fun, but it’s not improving my life. Not that my life is bad; I’m impressed with how far I’ve come in a year in terms of my life goals. Still, I know that I need to continue to move forward. I mentioned to my mum that I might want to teach in another country when I graduate. She expressed concerns that it would be like my previous ill-fated trip. Fair enough, but if I went to another country, I would only go if I had a job. I’m also going to give her the name of the company that would find me work so that she doesn’t worry. I really shouldn’t be thinking of this now, though. I still have a year and a half to go in my program. God says to not worry about the past or future, and I need to listen.

I’m not sure why my timer hasn’t gone off yet. I hope I actually set it. I think that it should be going off soon. I really don’t have a lot to say. I’m glad I’m back in my hometown and get to see friends and family, and I’m glad I’m starting to blog more honestly. These things are connected  (there’s my timer!) because I think my friends and family (especially my family) can get to know me better through my blog. I sometimes feel, rightly or wrongly, that I’m in a box based around how I was when I was younger, and I don’t want to be forever thought of as a moody teenager.

Leave a contemplative comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237 other followers